The 8th ASEAN+3 Village Leaders Exchange Programme


Village leaders play an important role in rural development. This exchange programme aims to strengthen capacity building of village leaders from ASEAN member countries, the People's Republic of China (PRC), the Republic of Korea (ROK) and Japan. The 5-day event will share good experiences on rural industrial devlelpment, poverty reduction, agricultural value chain, rural tourism, etc. Moreover, the programme will provide a platform to discuss potential economic development and industrial cooperation, which may further bring substantial cooperation among the countries. A main feature of the programme is village homestay, which enables ASEAN representatives to stay together with local villagers and experience their daily lives and culture.

Advocated by the PRC Premier Li Keqiang at the ASEAN+3 Summit 2013, the “ASEAN+3 Village Leader Exchange Programme” was launched the same year. From 2013 to 2018, seven training workshops and village stays in the PRC have been conducted in Sichuan, Guangxi, Shanghai, Yunnan, and Beijing. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations( ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration). The ten member countries are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. ASEAN+3 includes the PRC, Japan, the ROK and Japan.