The 6th ASEAN+3 Village Leaders Exchange Program


Advocated by the PRC Premier Li Keqiang at the ASEAN+3 Summit 2013, the “ASEAN+3 Village Leader Exchange Program” was launched that same year to strengthen the capacity of village leaders of ASEAN member countries through exchanging best practices and training. From 2013 to 2016, four training workshops and village stays in the PRC have been conducted in Sichuan, Guangxi, and Shanghai. This year's ASEAN+ 3 Village Leader Exchange Program aims to empower the knowledge of village leaders in rural development and poverty eradication, especially in human capital development, through capacity building and improved community development. The program aims to catalyze cooperation between ASEAN+3 village leaders, government officials, and NGOs for knowledge sharing and networking, with possibilities of future economic cooperation among the participants. The Association of Southeast Asian Nations( ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (Bangkok Declaration). The ten member countries are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. ASEAN+3 includes the PRC, Japan, and the Republic of Korea.

Read more on the partnership between ASEAN and ADB.